OA Legacy Fellowship Award

Order of the Arrow members who have already earned or received the James E. West Fellowship can further show their financial support of Scouting and the Order by Earning the Order of the Arrow Legacy Fellowship Award. The Legacy Fellowship is the first opportunity for Order of the Arrow members to make a direct contribution to the national OA endowment, furthering their support of Scouting. The national OA endowment provides direct funding of Lodge Service Grants, Josh R. Sain Memorial Scholarships, OA high adventure, major conservation projects like Arrowcorps5 and SummitCorps, and continued support of youth leaders.
James E. West Knot with Legacy Fellowship Pin

About the Order of the Arrow Endowment

Lodge Recipients of the Order of the Arrow Legacy Fellowship Award

Martin “Gumby” Petersen, 2019

What is the James E. West Fellowship Award?

James E. West, First Chief Scout Executive
A gift to a local council, designated by the donor to the council endowment fund, qualifies for membership as a James E. West Fellow. The gift must be in addition to— and not replace or diminish—the donor’s annual Friends of Scouting support. A minimum gift of $1000 in cash or marketable securities qualifies for the Bronze level membership. Donors may make cumulative gifts to reach Silver, Gold, and Diamond member levels. For example, 5 years of giving at the Bronze level would qualify for Silver level membership. Many individuals and corporations make these gifts either on behalf of someone else—such as in honor of an Eagle Scout, Silver Beaver recipient, a retirement, a special accomplishment, or anniversary—or in memory of a special individual.

What do recipients receive?

Square Knot for Uniform Wear
Bronze Award Civilian Pin and a Certificate